Happy Twenty Three

As of this posting, it’s July 23rd, 2014. For some people, the number 23 holds a special meaning. Otherwise known as the ’23 Enigma.’

It’s been a very long time since I’ve done anything, art or writing wise relating to 23. It’s been a while since I’ve done anything relating to esoteric for that matter. (Stopped being active back in 2009) When I first started putting together my own self publish comics and illustration, I threw in a lot of symbolism. The number 23 was occasionally used.

I first heard of the 23 engima thanks to Re/Search Books back in the early ’90s. My first Re/Search book was ‘Modern Primatives‘ which talked about body modification and tattoo culture. This was way before the two subjects hit the mainstream. Inside the book was an interview with Genesis P-Orridge and his then-wife Paula P-Orridge (first wife). Genesis mentions the number 23 and the William S. Burroughs connection within this interview. This interview was also the first time I had learned about Aleister Crowley. So in a way, this was a portal of sorts.

Subconsciously, I noticed the number 23 more. My curiosity got the better of me, so I requested some information about T.O.P.Y. This is dating back to 1991 or 1992. When I received the magazine sized zine, it came with instructions on how to join TOPY. However at the time, despite the fact that I had already self-taught myself how to read tarot, and had dabbled slightly, this particular information was all a bit too heavy for me to deal with. My interest in anything occultist was pushed aside my until the early 2000’s.

Fast forward to the year 2006. I was in Lawrence, Kansas where William S. Burroughs spent the last ten years of his life. On an impulse I got a small tattoo of the number 23 on my inner right wrist.

These links might help explain the 23 enigma more here and here.

Ending this post is are old sketches. The first one is from 2005, very Psychic TV/TOPY influenced.  Looking back, I regret not initially going forward with the early instructions. Then again, I just wasn’t ready.

Psychic Kali by Michele Witchipoo, done back in 2005.
Psychic Kali by Michele Witchipoo, done back in 2005.

The second one was started in 2007 and completed in 2008. Believe this was published by AIN23 in 2009 or 2010. Would have to check up on that. In the meantime, enjoy and happy 23.

Chaos Mama by Michele Witchipoo back in early 2008.
Chaos Mama by Michele Witchipoo back in early 2008.

 

 

 

Published by

Micheleborg

An artist, illustrator and cartoonist from NYC. In addition, former mad mage, lousy bass player, music fanatic, midnight movie rabidness, indie comix cousin, and pop culture connoisseur with a hint of cynicism. As my good friend said: Never judge a cook by his lover, for if you do he might put a roach in yer suppa.

Leave a comment